Blackbird Scenic Overlook
Lewis and Clark and 10 men climbed a hill to the burial site of Blackbird, an Omaha Chef who died four years earlier of smallpox. Today you can view a modern model of an earth lodge and enjoy the scenic beauty of the Missouri River. Site also contains information about the Omaha Tribe
U.S. Hwy. 75
Dakota City Train Depot
Recently, the City of Dakota City was awarded almost $130,000 for the renovation of the exterior of the former Chicago and Northwestern Railroad Depot. Constructed in 1922, this one-story brick depot building is eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places. This facility was a key link in the Omaha to Minneapolis rail corridor from 1922 until 1957 when it was abandoned. the rails and ties are still located immediately north of the building. It is located one block from the Dakota City Public School and 125 feet from the end of the Dakota City Trail.
Fourth Street, Historical District
Historic 4th contains a concentration of late – 19th century commercial buildings. Most of the larger buildings are notable for their distinctive Richardsonian Romanesque style of architecture popular to the late 1800s. The area features antique and specialty shops, puts and restaurants.
Flight 232 Memorial
On the riverfront, near the Anderson Dance Pavilion. Commemorating the heroic rescue efforts shown by the Siouxland community after the crash of the United Flight 232 in 1989, the statue depicts Colonel Dennis Nielson carrying a child to safety.
300 Larsen Park Road
Lewis and Clark Campsite: August 21, 1804
When the Lewis and Clark Expedition to the Pacific Ocean went through this area their mood was undoubtedly gloomy. On the previous day they had buried their comrade, Sergeant Charles Floyd, who died of a ruptured appendix. Although he was the expedition’s only fatality, the explorers suffered from a variety of illnesses and accidents. On August 22, Captain Lewis became ill. Although the cause is unknown, Captain Clark mistakenly believed it was caused by arsenic in rocks Lewis had examined. On the return journey in 1806, Lewis was injured in a hunting accident.
On this day the explorers passed the Sioux River. Clark was told about a place high up this river where “a Creek Coms in which passes through cliffs of red rock which the Indians make pipes of and when the different nations meet at those queries all is peace.” This is now known as Pipestone National Monument, located in southwestern Minnesota. the party camped along the Missouri River northeast of here.
Nebraska State Historical Society
National Park Service
Marker 343, U.S. 20 at milepost 421 on north side
approximately 1 mile west of Jackson, Dakota County
Lewis and Clark Wayside
Locate on the bluffs of the Missouri River, about 3 miles from where the expedition had their longest encampment and about 4 miles from where they caught over 1,300 fish in one day. This outlook commemorates the historic discovery and provides a breathtaking view of the beautiful Missouri River.
14th & Hickory
Sergeant Floyd Monument
This 100 foot high stone obelisk memorializes Sgt. Charles Floyd who died on the 1804 Lewis & Clark Expedition. Overlooking a breathtaking view of the Missouri River, it was the first historic landmark registered by the U.S. Government in 1960.
On Hwy. 75, near Glenn Avenue
Take I-29 exit 143 to Singing Hills Blvd.,
to Lewis Blvd, go 1 mile, Sioux City
Southern Hills Mall Lewis and Clark Mural
With a prominent location along the famous Lewis and Clark Trail, Southern Hills Mall commissioned a one-of-a-kind, museum-quality Lewis and Clark mural exhibit that stretches 296 feet above storefronts and tells the story of the entire expedition in 38 scenes. With this historically accurate exhibit, the mall was designated a “National Trail Site” by the National Park Service – the only commercial to receive such an honor.
4400 Sergeant Road
St. John’s 1856
About 1.5 miles north of this spot is the abandoned site of “Old St. John’s,” one of the first towns established in Dakota County.
The townsite was settled on June 2, 1856, by the Father Trecy Colony – 60 people, with 18 ox-drawn covered wagons. The site was surveyed and platted June 24, 1856 and the town was named St. John’s, in honor of St. John the Baptist.
In 1860, Father Trecy went to Washington seeking permission to establish a mission among the Ponca Indians. Meanwhile the Civi War began. Father Trecy became an Army chaplain, and never returned to his beloved colony. In the early ’60s, the Missouri River began to threaten St. John’s. the people began moving their buildings to the new town of Jackson. By 1866, all buildings were gone and the townsite was abandoned.
The site of St. John’s still exists as a symbol of courage and hope and of the religious faith of a dedicated people.
Dakota County Historical Society,
Historical Landmark Council
Marker 34 – U.S. 20, Jackson, Dakota County
Near here stands the first Lutheran church building constructed in Nebraska. It has occupied this site since 1860. It was designed and built by Augustus T. Haase, a local carpenter and member of the Emmanuel Lutheran congregation, at a cost of $2,000. For several years the building also served periodically as a Territorial courthouse, with religious services being held on Sunday as usual.
This old church still stands as a monument to the steadfastness of purpose of the early settler and as a symbol of pioneer religious life.
Dakota County Historical Society
Historical Land Mark Council
Marker 23, US 73-77, Dakota City
An important Omaha Indian village called Tonwantonga (Large Village) by the Omaha stood on Omaha Creek in this area. Ruled by the great Chief Blackbird, an estimated 1,100 people lived in this earthlodge town about 1795 and it played an important role in Indian and exploratory history. May explorers and fur traders visited this spot before 1800. Near it the Spanish built a fort, armed it with heavy guns and named it Fort Charles honoring Charles IV.
The Lewis and Clark Expedition visited the village August 13, 1804, finding it deserted, as the Omaha were away on an extended buffalo hunt. The explorers stayed near the site for a week and held a conference with three chiefs of the Oto tribe who had come to make peace with the absent Omaha.
In 1800, disaster had struck the village as smallpox killed an estimated 400 including the famous Chief Blackbird. After Blackbird’s death, the village ceased to play so important a role in the struggle for control of the Missouri Valley and the Plains beyond.
Historical Landmark Council
U.S. 77, north of Homer, Dakota County
War Eagle Monument
War Eagle said to have been Mdewakanton or Isanti Dakota Indian. A friend to the white people, he died in 1851. A monument was erected on this bluff honoring him, which provides a breathtaking view oft he tri-state area.
Take I-29 exit 151 and follow War Eagle Drive